Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Mahela appointed captain, Dilshan resigns

Mahela Jayawardena has been reappointed as the captain of the national team after T.M. Dilshan stepped down a day after the ODI series concluded in South Africa.

The SLC announced that the sports minister had approved a squad for the forthcoming triangular series in Australia naming Jayawardena as the captain. The Selection Committee has retained Angelo Mathews as the deputy.

The notice of Jayawardena as captain came just few hours after SLC announced that T.M. Dilshan has resigned as the captain of the team.

Dilshan resigned as captain in all three formats of the game just a day after concluding the ODI series in South Africa with a score line of 3-2.

Dilshan took the reins from Kumar Sangakkara after the ICC World Cup and lead the team on tours against England, Pakistan, Australia and South Africa. Despite losing all Test and ODI series against them he had the honour of captaining Sri Lankan to its maiden Test win on South African soil.

Meanwhile, the new selection committee has recalled Farveez Maharoof to the team. Thilan Samaraweera is a stand by for the series.

Team: Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Angelo Mathews (Vice Captain), Upul Tharanga, T.M.Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayaka, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Chamara Welegedera, Dhammika Prasad. Stand by: Thilan Samaraweera

The Island